Birthday Weekend – Part 1

Women tend to get anxious about getting older (myself included). Maybe because we are so hard on ourselves in terms of achieving goals we had set out in our teens, and getting older is a constant reminder of how many of those goals you have not yet achieved. Or possibly because we live in a youth-obsessed culture that praises external beauty, and getting older means that your youth is chipping away year by year. You should not expect to be the same person you were a year ago; you should not think the same as you did or even look the same.

Birthdays have become less about partying and more about reflections on what I have learned about myself and life in general. It’s crazy how much can happen in just 12 months – whether good or bad it’s always important to know that there are no coincidences in life. Every single experience is a lesson in preparation for what’s yet to come, and as difficult as it may be to accept certain experiences – they are fundamental to your growth; and with growth comes wisdom.

10 things I have learned over the past year:

  1. Happiness is a DIY job
  2. Nobody owes you anything.
  3. If you don’t ask, the answer is always no.
  4. Time is fleeting. Get shit done.
  5. The heart wants what the heart wants, damnit!
  6. Don’t ever change who you are to impress others.
  7. Give yourself love first before giving it to others.
  8. Be kind to yourself
  9. Always do your best and someone will notice
  10. Everything will be OK!

This past weekend I visited the Western Cape with my partner. Although it was my second visit to the province, it was however my first “touristy” visit. I love traveling. Being able to get lost in a new place while taking in as much of its beauty as possible.

Friday began with a 12 minute ride on the Cape Wheel which offered picturesque views of the V&A Waterfront.

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a7 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetFollowed by lovely lunch overlooking Clifton beach at The Bungalow, having a Chicken Caesar + sipping on a Margarita. Sunglasses from Zara.

We then drove up the west coast to a little fishing village called Paternoster. We stayed at this beautiful seaside inspired cottage called Gelukkie. I loved the craftsmanship of their wooden furniture.

imageimg_2350 image
My actual birthday was on Saturday and we went out to explore more of Paternoster. All the houses in this town are white with blue and turquoise detailing, very much like the Greek Islands. The dominant population is Cape Coloureds and it was pretty clear that the majority of the towns income came from tourist visits.Here I’m wearing Trenery jeans, Mr Price top + sling bag, Zara sunglasses and Froggie shoes.

A rather romantic setting for dinner at Reuben’s restaurant situated inside the Abalone House & Spa.
imageA glass of my favourite wine by the fire place while snuggled up on the couch. img_3899Happy Gemini season to all my fellow Gemini’s. More Cape Town pictures to come…

Sartorially, Eleigh.

3 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend – Part 1

  1. Hi. I am so glad you enjoyed the trip. I envy you. We take so much for granted the beauty of the cities we live in. I am also in Durban for a day Tomorrow. I love the story

    Like

Leave a comment