Inecto Ultra Gloss Review

I have never dyed my hair before, so when Inecto approached me to work on this campaign, I was very nervous and hesitant. Mainly, because I have heard a lot of unpleasant things about the damage dye can cause to your hair. And I am just generally a very safe person, I rarely experiment with anything too outrageous or out of my comfort zone. So colouring my hair seemed like too much of a giant leap. Afraid that I would not look good afterwards, despite my friends’ reassurance that I would look great no matter what I colour I chose.F1AE2203-EE03-408F-A223-0444BC376373.jpgThe Inecto Ultra Gloss hair colour is formulated with an infusion of natural products such as honey, coconut oil and baobab oil. This formula is set to not only colour your hair but also care for it in the process and leave it soft and shiny. Despite never having died my hair, I already imagined what the process would feel like. For some reason I thought it would burn the way chemical relaxers burn your scalp after a certain period of time and that’s when you know to wash it off.

I am in my living room, mixing the colour and developer together before I start this nerve-wrecking process. The strand test definitely put me at ease once I saw what the outcome could look like, although it was hard to envision the the colour fully covering my head (so basically still 75% nervous). Before applying the café mocha colour mixture to my hair, I made sure to apply Vaseline on my hairline just to make sure that the dye didn’t colour my face hairs as well (nobody wants that).

Applying the dye to my hair was not as hard as I thought it would be, but I did have some assistance from my roommate. Because I have virgin (not chemically straightened) hair, I had to make sure that I comb the hair from root to tip with a fine toothed comb to ensure that the colour was evenly distributed throughout the kinks of my 4C curls. You can also use your finger tips (with gloves on) to further massage the colour into your hair.  Timer is set to 45 minutes. Now to wait for the colour to do the work. I could definitely smell the coconut permeate through the air. [danced, laughed, drank wine and 45 minutes later, I am in the shower washing my hair. Once the water was running clear of colour, I stopped rinsing and applied a deep conditioner. I combed through my hair with a wide toothed comb just to make sure there was no dye residue left in my hair. Rinsed that off, and ran to the mirror to see the results. I am happy to announce that I am not botched!IMG_1112.jpgThroughout the rinsing process my hair definitely felt soft. I usually air dry my hair (because, you know, heat is bad and stuff, plus it is short it enough to air dry. I would say that the colour did turn out similar to what the packaging depicted. Remember, if you have coloured your hair before, the outcome of the colour you choose might vary from what is shown on the box, depending on the previous colour you had used. It’s been a few days since I took the plunge into the unknown. Overall pleased with the results. There was nothing to be nervous about. The whole process is seamless – if you’re not too confident, you can always get a friend to help you. My hair still seems healthy, well nourished, and rich in colour. I think I will try the black berries shade next.

 

Leave a comment